Department of Music University of Virginia

Graduation Ceremony

Saturday, May 18, 2024 11:30 am, Hunter Smith Band Building

Pre-Ceremony Music

Calvin Brown, Instructor, Keyboard

Faculty Presenters

Michael Puri, Associate Professor and Interim Chair

Matthew Burtner, Eleanor Shea Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Ted Coffey, Professor

Fred Maus, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs

David Sariti, Associate Professor and Interim Director of Performance

I-Jen Fang, Associate Professor

Post-Ceremony Music

John D'earth, Senior Lecturer, *Trumpet* Bonnie Gordon, Professor, *Viola*

0380

Undergraduate Awards

Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Departmental Recognition

Distinguished Majors Program

Elise Ebert Cassie Lipton
Jack Engel Andrew London
Kat Hammock William Waugh
Spencer Hoisington Zachary Wood

Emily Hunter

Performance Concentration Program

Elise Ebert Jack Kehoe Jack Engel Cassie Lipton

Ph.D. in Critical and Comparative Studies in Music

Emily Mellen

Songs Across the Waves: The Music of Radio Bari

Ph.D. in Composition and Computer Technologies

Alexander Corwin Christie

Light, Sound, Systems, Deer: Nonhuman Agency & Intermedia Practice

Omar Ernesto Guzman Fraire

Revuelta Debil Instituent Modes of the Ungovernable: Life as an Aural / Critical Art Practice

Heather Mease *Semibegun*

Juan Carlos Vasquez Gomez

Ecstasy / Light / Inertia: Interactive Gamification for New Electroacoustic Music and Sound Art

Bachelor of Arts

Caroline Louisa Bell Charles Edward Burton Eugene Young-Min Choo ‡ Elise Victoria Ebert *‡ Jack Alexander Engel * Elizabeth Lynn Eveland Emma Paige Gorman ‡ Kathleen Marie Hammock * Natalie Jean Heatwole Spencer Evan Hoisington Emily Grace Hunter Isaac Nathan Jensen John Robert Kehoe *‡ Abby Jayoung Kim Tressa Yumi Kim Ishan Koroth William Michael Lee Yena Rona Lee * Cassandra Ashley Lipton * Andrew Davis London * Owen Patrick Markow Samuel Kwangyoung Pak Luke Richard Powers * Zoe Nuneh Ginnis Tekeian ** William Palmer Waugh ‡
Piergiorgio Wilson ‡
Zachary James Wood
Zachary Robert Wood
Adin Isaac Ende Yager ‡
Joshua Albert Zimmermann

(38)

Faculty

JoVia Armstrong
Ayn Balija
Pamela Beasley
Calvin Brown
Matthew Burtner
A.D. Carson
Adam Carter
Jiyeon Choi
Edward Coffey
John D'earth
Luke Dahl
Nomi Dave
Scott DeVeaux
Jeff Decker

I-Jen Fang
Bridgid Eversole
William Ferguson
Bonnie Gordon
Kelly Gross
Karl Hagstrom Miller
Cody Halquist
Francesca Hurst
Anastasia Jellison
Robert Jospé
Colin Killalea
Michelle Kisliuk
Andrew Koch
J.C. Kuhl

Nathaniel Lee
Donald Loach (emeritus)
Noel Lobley
Max McNutt
Fred Maus
John Mayhood
Nicole Mitchell Gantt
Barbara Moore
Stephanie Nakasian
Elizabeth Ozment
Brenda Patterson
Kelly Peral
Michael Puri
Leah Reid

Elizabeth Roberts Michael Rosensky Benjamin Rous David Sariti Daniel Sender Shelby Sender Judith Shatin (*emerita*) Michael Slon

Michael Slon Peter Spaar Kelly Sulick Elliott Tackitt

Kate Tamarkin (emerita)

Richard Will

Michele Zaccagnini

^{*} Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Recipient

[‡] Departmental Recognition Recipient