Department of Music University of Virginia

Graduation Ceremony

Saturday, May 17, 2025 11:30 am, Hunter Smith Band Building

Pre-Ceremony Music

John D'earth, Senior Lecturer (*retired*), *Trumpet* Bonnie Gordon, Professor, *Viola*

Faculty Presenters

Ted Coffey, Professor and Chair Matthew Burtner, Eleanor Shea Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Fred Maus, Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs Kelly, Sulick, Associate Professor and Director of Performance I-Jen Fang, Associate Professor

Post-Ceremony Music

John D'earth, Senior Lecturer (*retired*), *Trumpet* Bonnie Gordon, Professor, *Viola*



Undergraduate Awards

Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Departmental Recognition

Distinguished Majors Program

Hunter Anderson Colson Andrew Leon Heil Hannah Isabel Martin Jack Michael Siegel Alexander Gabriel Suh Julia Nancy Totten Ellen Avey Woodard Amanda Eunjin Yo

Performance Concentration Program

Jack Michael Siegel

Alexander Gabriel Suh

Julia Nancy Totten

Ph.D. in Critical and Comparative Studies in Music

Tim Booth

Making Conservation Soundscapes: The Musical Ethnography of a New Zealand Forestry Sanctuary

Sam Golter

Composing the White Imaginary: Social Darwinism, Eugenics, Anglo-Saxonism, and Confederate Nostalgia in the American Music Department, 1880s-1940s

Ph.D. in Composition and Computer Technologies

Daniel Alexander Fishkin The Kerf of Sound

Matias Andres Vilaplana Stark

Developing a Musical Practice in XR: Music Composition, Performance, and Improvisation Along the Virtual Continuum

Bachelor of Arts

Noah Gerric Amato	Zohar Mikhael Hadad	Lynn S. Park *	Helen Elizabeth Teti *‡
Benjamin Nehemiah Barnes	Jack Beland Haddad *	David Alberto Peterson **	Adama J. Thompson *
Owen Christopher Belfield	Andrew Leon Heil *‡	Patrick Logan Realyvasquez *‡	Julia Nancy Totten **
Casey Jack Bloome	Isabelle Fern Marsh *	Hannah Slade Russell **	Hana Chien-Yun Wang
Alex Gray Burijon *	Hannah Isabel Martin	Jack Michael Siegel *‡	Ellen Avey Woodard *‡
Olivia Grace Colli	Aryan Medam	Alexander Gabriel Suh *‡	Margaret Celanire Worden **
Hunter Anderson Colson *‡	Elizabeth Grace Olmsted *	Noah Williams Sylvester	Amanda Eunjin Yo *‡
Bailey Dzema *‡		-	-

* Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Recipient [‡] Departmental Recognition Recipient

\mathcal{O}

Faculty

JoVia Armstrong Ayn Balija Pamela Beasley Calvin Brown Matthew Burtner A.D. Carson Adam Carter Jiyeon Choi Edward Coffey Luke Dahl Nomi Dave John D'earth (*retired*) Scott DeVeaux I-Jen Fang Bridgid Eversole William Ferguson Bonnie Gordon Kelly Gross Karl Hagstrom Miller Cody Halquist Francesca Hurst Anastasia Jellison Robert Jospé Colin Killalea JC Kuhl Michelle Kisliuk Andrew Koch Nathaniel Lee Donald Loach *(emeritus)* Noel Lobley Max McNutt Fred Maus John Mayhood Nicole Mitchell Gantt Barbara Moore Stephanie Nakasian Elizabeth Ozment Brenda Patterson Kelly Peral Michael Puri Leah Reid Elizabeth Roberts Michael Rosensky Benjamin Rous David Sariti Daniel Sender Shelby Sender Judith Shatin *(emerita)* Michael Slon Peter Spaar Kelly Sulick Elliott Tackitt Kate Tamarkin *(emerita)* Edmond Wang Richard Will