# Department of Music University of Virginia

# **Graduation Ceremony**

Saturday, May 21, 2022 12:30 pm, Hunter Smith Band Building

## Welcoming Remarks and Introduction of Faculty

Karl Hagstrom Miller

**Presentation of Graduate Scrolls** 

Nomi Dave

Ph.D. Faculty Advisors

Nomi Dave

Karl Hagstrom Miller

Michelle Kisliuk

**Undergraduate Awards** 

Fred Maus

**Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize** 

**Departmental Recognition** 

**Distinguished Majors** 

Joshua Evan Eiger, with High Distinction Lauren Elizabeth Schmidt, with Highest Distinction

Presentation of Undergraduate Scrolls and Certificates

David Sariti I-Jen Fang

# 0380

# Ph.D. in Critical and Comparative Studies in Music

## Kyle Chattleton

The Sono-Affective and Charlottesville's Response to the "Summer of Hate"

## Tracey Mia Stewart

Music, Memory, Power: Being Jamaican Maroon in the Past, Present, and Future

# Rami Toubia Stucky

When Bossa Nova Was: The Sounds and Flavors of Brazilian Music in the United States during the 1960s

#### **Bachelor of Arts**

Jeffrey Thomas Dutter ‡
Joshua Evan Eiger ‡
Ladson Brooks Ellis
Blake S Hower
Rachel Anne Kessler ‡
Minhie Willow Kwak
Heejee Amy Lim

Catherine Nelson Moore Katherine Lee Mosier \* Anthony James Murphy-Neilson \*‡ Matthew Hamilton Parsons Julia Ruth Preston ‡ Olivia Grace Scheidt \*‡ Lauren Elizabeth Schmidt \*‡ Hannah Caroline Thompson Noah Tinsley Samuel Fulford Townsend Benjamin Steven Trombetta \*‡ Hannah Elizabeth Yee Mattias Beck Zuffoletti \*

# **(38)**

# **Faculty**

Ayn Balija Pamela Beasley Calvin Brown Matthew Burtner A.D. Carson Adam Carter Jiyeon Choi **Edward Coffey** John D'earth Luke Dahl Nomi Dave Scott DeVeaux Jeff Decker I-Jen Fang Bonnie Gordon Kelly Gross Karl Hagstrom Miller

Cody Halquist Greg Howard Anastasia Jellison Robert Jospé Michelle Kisliuk Andrew Koch Nathaniel Lee Donald Loach (emeritus) **Noel Lobley** Marita McClymonds (emerita) Fred Maus John Mayhood Barbara Moore **Justin Mueller** Stephanie Nakasian John Nye Chris Owens Elizabeth Ozment

Brenda Patterson Kelly Peral Michael Puri Leah Reid Elizabeth Roberts Michael Rosensky Benjamin Rous David Sariti Daniel Sender **Judith Shatin** (emerita) Michael Slon Peter Spaar Kelly Sulick **Elliott Tackitt** Kate Tamarkin (emerita) Richard Will Michele Zaccagnini

<sup>\*</sup> Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Recipient

<sup>‡</sup> Departmental Recognition Recipient