Department of Music University of Virginia

Graduation Ceremony

Saturday, May 20, 2023 11:30 am, Hunter Smith Band Building

Pre-Ceremony Music

Becky Brown, Harp

Faculty Presenters

Ted Coffey, Professor and Chair Nomi Dave, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Karl Hagstrom Miller, Associate Professor Fred Maus, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs David Sariti, Associate Professor and Interim Director of Performance I-Jen Fang, Associate Professor

Post-Ceremony Music

John D'earth, *Trumpet* Bonnie Gordon, *Viola*

CSD

Undergraduate Awards

Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Departmental Recognition

Distinguished Majors Program

Aldrian Argante, with High Distinction Sky Chen, with High Distinction Christopher Fox, with Highest Distinction Samuel Gerardi, with High Distinction Miles Jackson, with Highest Distinction Benjamin Larsen, with High Distinction Ryan Lee, with High Distinction Michael McNulty, Jr., with High Distinction Ellis Nolan, with Highest Distinction

Performance Concentration Program

Christopher Michael Fox, Cello Ryan Lee, Viola

Ph.D. in Critical and Comparative Studies in Music

Tanner Greene

Vaporwave Is Dead: Sound, Community, and Metadata in Internet Music Genres

Hannah Young

"Include Women in the Sequel": Representation and Women of Color in the Second Golden Age of Broadway

Bachelor of Arts

Aldrian Josh Perez Argante Jacob William Bagoly ‡ Sarah Kathleen Ball ‡ Elie Dobrin Bashkow *‡ Claire Elizabeth Bassett Noelle Elizabeth Buice *‡ Sky Chen Caroline Laurie Crowley Khuyen Thuy Dinh ‡ Jose Andres Flores Christopher Michael Fox *‡

Ethan Robert Frantz Samuel Thomas Gerardi *‡ Meagan Marie Gillette Halina Gisele Guterbock ‡ Olivia Iane Hale ‡ Miles Andrew Jackson *‡ Benjamin M. Larsen ‡ Rvan Lee ‡ Isabelle Grace Lesmana ‡

Michael Frederick Kathmann McNulty, Jr. *‡

Elyse Koren Mehigan *‡

Connor Patrick Noble Ellis Nolan ‡

Jeremy James Odrich ‡ Aidan Christopher Reed Kimberly Annamarie Sharp Alexander David Shen Ryan Parker Smith *‡

Andrea Michelle Tache Lopez *‡

Alexander Binh Tran Sarah Louise Wilkin ‡

U380

Faculty

JoVia Armstrong Ayn Balija Pamela Beasley Calvin Brown Matthew Burtner A.D. Carson Adam Carter Jiyeon Choi **Edward Coffey** John D'earth Luke Dahl Nomi Dave Scott DeVeaux Jeff Decker I-Jen Fang Nicole Gantt Mitchel Bonnie Gordon

Kelly Gross Karl Hagstrom Miller Cody Halquist Anastasia Jellison Robert Jospé Michelle Kisliuk Andrew Koch Nathaniel Lee Donald Loach (emeritus) Noel Loblev Fred Maus Maximillian McNutt John Mayhood Barbara Moore Stephanie Nakasian Elizabeth Ozment Brenda Patterson

Kelly Peral Michael Puri Leah Reid Elizabeth Roberts Michael Rosensky Benjamin Rous David Sariti Daniel Sender Judith Shatin (emerita) Michael Slon Peter Spaar Kelly Sulick Elliott Tackitt Kate Tamarkin (emerita) Richard Will Michele Zaccagnini

^{*} Brander Wyatt Morrison Prize Recipient

[‡] Departmental Recognition Recipient